Honour - Korea 1950-53

Date -  02-July-1950 / 27-July-1953
Type -  Area Awards
Conflict -  Korean War 1950-53


The area covered by the award was defined as the coast of Korea, and was awarded to all ships entitled to the Korea medal.

After world war 2, the Korean Peninsula was partitioned between the communist north and the non-communist south. Then in June 1950 North Korea invaded without warning and drove South Korean and US forces into the SE corner of the country around Pusan. Fifteen member states of the UN led by US forces countered and stabilised the front. An amphibious landing at Inchon on 15-Sep-1950 cut the communist supply lines and the North Korean troops were driven back north of the pre-war border almost to the Yalu river.

On 25-Oct Republic of Korea forces reached the Yalu river but began to encounter Chinese forces. Large numbers of Chinese troops were committed against the over extended UN forces which began to be driven back south and finally stopped south of Wonju. The Chinese had suffered huge numbers of casualties and UN forces began to force their way north again. Retaking Seoul for a second time on 15-March and advancing north of the 38th parallel on 03-April.

By June-1951 the front had stabilised and desultory cease fire talks begun. By late Oct-1951 talks restarted and the UN decided only local attacks in limited strength would take place.

By the end of December the North had strengthened their lines to the point where across the country a fortified belt from 15 to 25 miles deep, defended by 855,000 men existed and were in a no-lose position.. 

The dragged steadily on until 27-Jul- 1953 when an Armistice was signed at Panmunjom. A formal peace agreement has never been signed and tension across the Korean peninsula continues from time to time.

The Commonwealth Task Force comprised units of the RN, RAN, RNZN and Canadian Navies, and were normally deployed to the West of Korea in the Yellow Sea. They were involved in Naval Gunfire Support and escorting aircraft carriers, (with two normally on station at any time), whose aircraft provided air cover to troops ashore, and ground attack. HMS Jamaica was the first UN ship to shoot down an enemy aircraft.


HM Ships
Alacrity 50-52 Alert 51  Amethyst 51-52  Anzac 51-53  Athabascan 50-53 
Bataan 52  Belfast 50-52  Birmingham 52-53  Black Swan 50-51  Cardigan Bay 50-53 
Cayuga 50-52  Ceylon 50-52  Charity 50-53  Cockade 50-53  Comus 50-53 
Concord 50-53  Condamine 52-53  Consort 50-53  Constance 50-52  Cossack 50-53 
Crane 52-53  Crusader 52-53  Culgoa 53  Glory 51-53  Haida 52-53 
Hart 50-51  Hawea 51-53  Huron 51-53  Iroquois 52-53  Jamaica 50 
Kaniere 53  Kenya 50-51  Modeste 53  Morecambe Bay 50-53  Mounts Bay 50-53 
Murchison 51-52  Newcastle 52-53  Nootka 51-52  Ocean 52-53  Opossum 52-53 
Pukaki 50  Rotoiti 50-53  St. Brides Bay 50-53  Shoalhaven 50  Sioux 50-52 
Sparrow 53  Sydney 51-52  Taupo 51-52  Telemachus 53  Theseus 50-51 
Tobruk 51-53  Triumph 50  Tutira 50-51  Tyne 53  Unicorn 50-53 
Warramunga 50-52  Whitesand Bay 50-53       
RFA Ships
Brown Ranger 50-52  Green Ranger 51-52  Wave Baron 52  Wave Chief 51-53  Wave Knight 51-53 
Wave Laird 50-51  Wave Premier 50-52  Wave Prince 50-53  Wave Sovereign 52-53   
FAA Squadrons
800 (50) 801 (52-53) 802 52() 804 (51-52) 805 (51-52)
807 (50-53) 808 (51-52) 810 (50-53) 812 (51-52) 817 (51-52)
821 (52-53) 825 (52) 827 (50) 898 (52-53)  
Hospital Ships
Maine 50         
This page last edited - 25 March, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.