HMS Porpoise (1933) SSM  (10th)

This the tenth ship to carry the name HMS Porpoise was the name ship of a class of six minelaying submarines.

Built by Vickers-Armstrong of Barrow-in-Furness, launched 30-Aug-1932 and completed 1933.

Took part in the King George V Silver Jubilee Fleet Review 16-Jul-1935.

Bombed and sunk by Japanese aircraft 19-Jan-1945 in the Malacca Strait. The last Royal Navy submarine to be lost in WW2.

Won the Battle Honours: Norway 1940, Atlantic 1940-41, Malta Convoys 1942, Mediterranean 1942 and Malaya 1944.


Other HMS Porpoise
- 1st  HMS Porpoise
- 2nd HMS Porpoise
- 3rd HMS Porpoise
- 4th HMS Porpoise
- 5th HMS Porpoise
- 6th HMS Porpoise
- 7th HMS Porpoise
- 8th HMS Porpoise
- 9th HMS Porpoise
- 10th HMS Porpoise
- 11th HMS Porpoise

- Porpoise Class (1933) SSM
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 13 February, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.