HMS Triumph (1904) BB  (8th)

This HMS Triumph was the eighth ship to carry the name.

She was built by Vickers, laid down in Feb-1902 for the Chilean Navy, and launched 15-Jan-1903 as Libertad.  She was bought by the Royal Navy 03-Dec-1903, renamed Triumph and completed in June 1904. 

She served in the Channel and Home Fleets 1904-09.
Mediterranean Fleet 1909-12, then after a short spell at home went out to the China station in 1913.

In 1914 took part in operations with Japanese ships before deploying to the Mediterranean to join the Dardanelles force in early 1915.

Sunk by torpedo attack from the German submarine U-21 while engaged in a bombardment off Gaba Tepe in the Dardanelles 25-May-1915.

Won the Battle Honour: Dardanelles 1915.


Other HMS Triumph
- 1st  HMS Triumph
- 2nd HMS Triumph
- 3rd HMS Triumph
- 4th HMS Triumph
- 5th HMS Triumph
- 6th HMS Triumph
- 7th HMS Triumph
- 8th HMS Triumph
- 9th HMS Triumph
- 10th HMS Triumph
- 11th HMS Triumph

- Swiftsure Class (1904) BB
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 07 December, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.