HMS Royal Sovereign (1637)  (2nd)
1st Rate 100-gun

This the second Sovereign, was built at Woolwich, by Peter and Phineas Pett. 

Launched on 14-October-1637 as a 1st Rate, of 100 guns and 1,545 tons builders measure, 380ft long and 48ft 6in wide.

She was originally named Sovereign of the Seas 

In 1649 when Oliver Cromwell's Commonwealth established, it was proposed that she be renamed Commonwealth, but this was not done and she became simply, Sovereign

Following the restoration of the Monarchy, she was commonly called Royal Sovereign

She was formally renamed Royal Sovereign 1660, when she was rebuilt at Chatham Dockyard. 

During this rebuild  her upper works were lowered to improve her sailing but she remained a three-decked ship, her tonnage increased to 1,607 tons.

Another rebuild followed at Chatham in 1685 when she was again increased to 1,683 tons builders measure..

Her end came when she was accidentally burnt at Chatham on 29-January-1696, when being prepared to undergo another rebuild.

In 1701 a new Royal Sovereign was built at Woolwich and referred to as a rebuild. But this cannot be accepted as being correct. 

Won the Battle Honours: Kentish Knock 1652, Orfordness 1666, Sole Bay 1672, Schooneveld 1673, Texel 1673, and Barfleur 1692.


Other HMS Sovereign
- 1st  HMS Trinity Sovereign
- 2nd HMS Royal Sovereign
- 3rd HMS Royal Sovereign
- 4th HMS Royal Sovereign
- 5th HMS Royal Sovereign
- 6th HMS Royal Sovereign
- 7th HMS Royal Sovereign
- 8th HMS Royal Sovereign
- 9th HMS Sovereign

- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 26 August, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.