HMS Aurora (1914) CC  (8th)

This the eighth ship to carry the name HMS Aurora  was a Light  Cruiser.

Built at Devonport Dockyard, laid down 24-Oct-1912, launched 30-Sep-1913, and completed 05-Sep-1914.

On completion served as destroyer leader with the 1st Destroyer Flotilla, Grand Fleet 1914-15, then the same work with the 10th Destroyer Flotilla, Harwich 1915.

Joined the 5th Light Cruiser Squadron at Harwich Jun-1915 to 1918. Assisting in sinking the Meteor Aug-1915 and covered the Hoyer Seaplane raid 24-Mar-1916.

Refitted and rearmed 1917-18, then rejoined the Grand Fleet 1918-19. Went into reserve 1919.

Commissioned into the Royal Canadian Navy 01-Nov-1920. Paid off 1921, and hulked 1923.

Sold Aug-1927.

Won the Battle Honour: Dogger Bank 1915.


Other HMS Aurora
- 1st  HMS Aurora
- 2nd HMS Aurora
- 3rd HMS Aurora
- 4th HMS Aurora
- 5th HMS Aurora
- 6th HMS Aurora
- 7th HMS Aurora
- 8th HMS Aurora
- 9th HMS Aurora
- 10th HMS Aurora

- Arethusa Class (1914) CC
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

c. m.
This page last edited - 15 January, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.