HMS Ardent (1977) FG  (8th)

This the eighth ship to carry the name HMS Ardent was a Type 21, Amazon Class frigate.

Built by Yarrow, laid down 26-Feb-1974, launched 09-May-1975 and commissioned 13-Oct-1977.

Formed part of the Task force during the Falklands War 1982.

On 21-May-1982 following landings by British armed forces at San Carlos Water Ardent was lying in Falkland Sound when she was bombed and damaged by Argentinian A4 Skyhawks. Twenty minutes later while making for San Carlos Water she was bombed again and severely damaged. Fires spread out of control and surviving crew were taken off by HMS Yarmouth.

She sank the next morning 22-May-1982.

Won the Battle Honour: Falkland Islands 1982.


Other HMS Ardent
- 1st  HMS Ardent
- 2nd HMS Ardent
- 3rd HMS Ardent
- 4th HMS Ardent
- 5th HMS Ardent
- 6th HMS Ardent
- 7th HMS Ardent
- 8th HMS Ardent

- Type 21 Amazon Class  (1974) FG
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

c. w.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.

This page last edited - 06 February, 2013.