HMS Thetis (1892) CC  (10th)

This the tenth ship to carry the name HMS Thetis was a 2nd class protected cruiser.

Built by Thomson of Clydebank, laid down 1889, launched 12-Dec-1890 and completed 1892.

On completion served at Chatham 1892-98, then went to the Mediterranean 1898-1901 with a detachment to the Cape Station 1899-1901. Returned to Chatham 1902. Then to the China Station 1902-05.

Returned to the UK and went into reserve 1906.

Converted to a minelayer 1906-07, after which she continued in reserve 1907-11. Joined the 2nd Fleet minelaying Squadron 1912-14, Dover 1914-15.

Used as a depot ships 1916-17.

Prepared as a blockship 1918 and expended at Zeebrugge 23-Apr-1918.

Won the Battle Honour: Zeebrugge 1918.


Other HMS Thetis
- 1st  HMS Thetis
- 2nd HMS Thetis
- 3rd HMS Thetis
- 4th HMS Thetis
- 5th HMS Thetis
- 6th HMS Thetis
- 7th HMS Thetis
- 8th HMS Thetis
- 9th HMS Thetis
- 10th HMS Thetis
- 11th HMS Thetis

- Apollo Class (1891) CC
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 25 July, 2012.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.