HMS Diana (1953) DD  (10th)

This the tenth ship to carry the name HMS Diana was a Daring Class (1952) destroyer.

Built by Yarrow, laid down 03-Apr-1947, launched 08-May-1952 and completed 19-Mar-1953.

On completion served in the Mediterranean/Home circuit. Completed trials in Australian waters May/Jun-1956 and later took part i the Suez landings. Remained in the Mediterranean until she returned to Devonport for a short period in reserved then began refit 11-May-1959 to 20-Jan-61.

Then went back to the Home/Mediterranean circuit for two years before going to the far east 03-Jan-1963. Remained there until 1969 when she returned to the UK May-1969 and was placed on the Sales list.

Sold 01-Dec-1969 to Peru and renamed Palacios. Refitted in the UK 1970-73 and modernised further 1977-78.

Paid off 1993.


Other HMS Diana
- 1st  HMS Diana
- 2nd HMS Diana
- 3rd HMS Diana
- 4th HMS Diana
- 5th HMS Diana
- 6th HMS Diana
- 7th HMS Diana
- 8th HMS Diana
- 9th HMS Diana
- 10th HMS Diana

- Daring Class (1952) DD
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 13 May, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.