HMS Diana (1897) CC  (8th)

This the eighth ship to carry the name HMS Diana was a 2nd Class, Protected Cruiser.

Built by Fairfield of Govan, laid down 13-Aug-1894,  launched 05-Dec-1895, and completed May-1897.

On completion remained in reserve at Chatham 1897-99, used for trooping duties to Australia 1900, then went to the Mediterranean 1900-04. Refitted 1904, and went back to the Mediterranean 1905-13 (with a detachment to the East Indies 1909). Joined the 3rd Fleet 1913-14, the 12th Cruiser Squadron in the Western Channel 1914-15. Refitted 1915, then went to the China Station 1915-17, and the East Indies Station 1917-19.

Paid off at Queenstown Jun-1919.

Sold 01-Jul-1920.


Other HMS Diana
- 1st  HMS Diana
- 2nd HMS Diana
- 3rd HMS Diana
- 4th HMS Diana
- 5th HMS Diana
- 6th HMS Diana
- 7th HMS Diana
- 8th HMS Diana
- 9th HMS Diana
- 10th HMS Diana

- Eclipse Class (1897) CC
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 14 April, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.