HMS Diana (1932) DD  (9th)

This the ninth ship to carry the name HMS Diana was a D Class, destroyer.

Built at Portsmouth Dockyard, laid down Jun-1931, launched 19-Jul-1932, and commissioned 20-Dec-1932.

At the start of WW2, Diana was on the China Station, she was ordered initially to the Mediterranean. Then in company with her sister ships Dainty and Duchess, escorted the battleships HMS Barham and the French Dunkerque from Gibraltar to the Clyde. (On 12-Dec-139 Barham collided with and sank HMS Duchess).

Transferred to the Canadian Navy 06-Sep-1940, to replace HMS Fraser (ex HMS Crescent) which had been rammed and sunk by HMS Calcutta in the River Gironde estuary. Diana was renamed Margaree.

On 22-Oct-1940, collided with the merchant ship Port Fairy in the North Atlantic and sank with the loss of 142 of her crew.

Won the Battle Honour: Norway 1940.


Other HMS Diana
- 1st  HMS Diana
- 2nd HMS Diana
- 3rd HMS Diana
- 4th HMS Diana
- 5th HMS Diana
- 6th HMS Diana
- 7th HMS Diana
- 8th HMS Diana
- 9th HMS Diana
- 10th HMS Diana

- D Class (1932) DD
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

c. w.
This page last edited - 13 May, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.