HMS Conqueror (1971) SSN  (9th)

This the ninth ship to carry the name HMS Conqueror, was the second of three ships of the Churchill Class (1970) Nuclear powered fleet submarines.

Built by Cammell Laird, laid down 05-Dec-1967, launched 28-Aug-1969 and commissioned 09-Nov-1971.

During the Falklands War of 1982 she was sent on active service to the South Atlantic. She became the first and so far only nuclear powered submarine to sink an enemy warship when she sank the Argentine cruiser General Belgrano

Although no other details of Conqueror's duties are known. It is known that Royal Navy Nuclear submarines landed Special Boat Squadron (SBS) and Special Air Service (SAS) on the Falklands. Laid off the Argentine coast to in some way assist with early warning of the launch of Argentine air raids. They also basically kept the Argentine Navy in port following the sinking of the General Belgrano.

No other details are known about Conqueror's service and this needs more research to complete.

Decommissioned 1990 and is laid up awaiting final disposal.

Won the Battle Honour: Falkland Islands 1982.


Other HMS Conqueror
- 1st  HMS Conqueror
- 2nd HMS Conqueror
- 3rd HMS Conqueror
- 4th HMS Conqueror
- 5th HMS Conqueror
- 6th HMS Conqueror
- 7th HMS Conqueror
- 8th HMS Conqueror
- 9th HMS Conqueror

- Churchill Class (1970) SSN
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 11 April, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.