HMS Argyle (1711)  (1st) 
4th Rate 50-gun

The first HMS Argyle (Modern spelling Argyll), was originally named Bonaventure

As Bonaventure she was launched at Chatham in 1711, a 50-gun, 4th Rate Frigate. The name was changed to HMS Argyle in May 1715.

Following a rebuild at Woolwich she served continuously for the next 20 years, in both Home and Atlantic waters.

In 1739 during a war with Spain, Argyle took part in blockades of the Spanish north and west coasts. 

1741 saw her take five small coasters, and in company with two other ships recaptured five British merchant ships at Redonela near Vigo.

In late 1745 Argyle returned to Britain as part of a convoy escort.

She was paid off in 1746, in 1748 towed to Harwich where she was scuttled to form part of a breakwater.


Other HMS Argyll
- 1st  HMS Argyll
- 2nd HMS Argyll
- 3rd HMS Argyll

- ? Class
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.

This page last edited - 06 November, 2012.