Acheron (I) Class (1911) DD

The Acheron Class (1911) were a class of 20 destroyers. Part of the 1910-11 construction programme.

Fourteen were repeats of the previous Acorn Class (1910), and six were specials whose builders had to follow some but not all the specification and who otherwise had a free hand to produce ships with the highest possible speed, which had to be guaranteed.

They were designed to work across the North Sea and have good seakeeping properties.

When destroyers were allocated class letters in 1912, they were designated I Class.


- Class Ship
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures

Outside Links

- References
- Links

This page last edited - 19 April, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.