Fiji Class (1940) CC

This class of cruiser were designed as a result of the Second London Naval Treaty of 1937 which specified a maximum displacement for cruisers of 8,000 tons.  This treaty meant the previous Southampton Class (1937) design could not be continued. They are sometimes known as the Colony Class.

While based on the Southampton Class ships they shorter and narrower.

Five ships were authorised in the 1937 Cruiser Construction Programme and ordered in Dec-1937. These were Fiji, Kenya, Mauritius, Nigeria and Trinidad.

Four more repeats were ordered in Mar-1938, in the 1938 Construction Programme. Being Ceylon, Gambia, Jamaica, and Uganda.

Two more repeats were also ordered under the 1939 Cruiser Construction Programme, as Bermuda and Newfoundland.

Wartime conditions affected the completion of several ships. Trinidad was delayed by the results of bombing in the shipyard. Ceylon, Uganda and Newfoundland were suspended as a result of pressure on shipyards to repair battle damage to ships during the Dunkirk evacuations in May-1940.

After the suspension was lifted on the last three ships, they were completed to a modified design which improved their anti-aircraft ships and are known as the Uganda Class (1943).

All ships received various modifications during the war, and 'X' turret was removed from most ships in 1944-45.

After WW2 they received little modernisation but still saw active service until the late 1950's.


- Class Ship
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures

Outside Links

- References
- Links

w. m.
This page last edited - 20 February, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.