Holland Class (1901) SS

These the first Royal Navy submarines were a class of five petrol engine boats, built under licence from the Electric Boat Company to a design by John P Holland of the United States, and similar to those coming into service with the United States Navy.

The agreement signed in Mid-December 1900, was for five Holland Type X submarines to be built by Vickers Sons & Maxim at Barrow-in-Furness.

The keel of Holland Submarine No.1 was laid down on 4-February-1901, and launched 2-October-1902.

The first surface run using the petrol engine was 15-January-1902.

The first dive in the basin at Barrow, slung in chains for safety was 20-March-1902. The first free dive on 23-March-1902.

In the summer of 1902, the 1st Submarine Flotilla (Submarines 2 and 3 escorted by the torpedo gunboat Hazard and TB.42 left Barrow for Portsmouth, where they were later joined by No's 1, 4 and 5.


- Class Ship
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures

Outside Links

- References
- Links

This page last edited - 06 March, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.