HMS Sutherland (1997) FF  (3rd)

This the third ship to carry the name HMS Sutherland is one of 16 Type 23 Duke Class (1990) Frigates.

Built by Yarrow Shipbuilders on the Clyde, laid down 14-Oct-1993, launched 09-Mar-1996 and commissioned 04-Jul-1997.

Her first service was a six month deployment to the Falkland Islands in 1998/9.

In May-2000 formed part of Task Force - NTG 2000, which was the first time the UK had sent a group of warships around the world since 1986.

The ships motto is "Sans Peur - Without Fear".

In service Apr-2011. 


Other HMS Sutherland
- 1st  HMS Sutherland
- 2nd HMS Sutherland
- 3rd HMS Sutherland

- Type 23 Duke Class (1990) FF
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 12 January, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.