HMS Lion (1912) BC  (17th)

This the seventeenth ship to carry the name HMS Lion was the name ship of a class of three battlecruisers.

Built at Devonport dockyard, laid down in Nov-1909, launched 06-Aug-1910 and completed in May-1912,

On completion Lion was Flagship of the 1st Cruiser Squadron which later became the 1st Battlecruiser Squadron. During WW1 she was Flagship of the Battlecruiser Fleet. 

Saw action at Dogger Bank where she received several hits and considerable damage to her engine rooms, and had to be towed home by HMS Indomitable. Four months repairs followed.

In action again at Jutland she received a hit on the Q turret which ignited cordite charges. If it had not been for the quick action of the officer of the turret in flooding the magazine she would almost certainly been blown up with the loss of the ship.

She remained as Flagship of the 1st Battlecruiser Squadron until 1922.

Sold 31-Jan-1924 and broken up at Jarrow and Blyth. when she was scrapped.  

Won the Battle Honours: Heligoland 1914, Dogger Bank 1915 and Jutland 1916.


Other HMS Lion
- 1st  HMS Lion
- 2nd HMS Lion
- 3rd HMS Lion
- 4th HMS Lion
- 5th HMS Lion
- 6th HMS Lion
- 7th HMS Lion
- 8th HMS Lion
- 9th HMS Lion
- 10th HMS Lion
- 11th HMS Lion
- 12th HMS Lion
- 13th HMS Lion
- 14th HMS Lion
- 15th HMS Lion
- 16th HMS Lion
- 17th HMS Lion
- 18th HMS Lion

- Lion Class (1912) BC
- Specifications
- Ships
- Plans/Schematics
- Pictures
- Full Battle Honours

Outside Links
- Official Website
- Associated Sites
- Related Sites

This page last edited - 11 March, 2013.

Copyright Ian M King, except where otherwise indicated.